Halloween Creatures 2.0 Book Tag

I love Halloween season and finding a tag centered around it seems like perfect timing. Thanks to Lauren at Northern Plunder for her post and Anthony at Keep Reading Forward for his original post, I’ll be able to share my own answers today.

 

Rules:

  • Answer all prompts.
  • Answer honestly.
  • Tag 1-13 people.
  • Link back to this post.
  • Remember to credit the creator. (Anthony @ Keep Reading Forward)
  • Have fun!

 

Witch
A Magical Character or Book.

 

Dance Upon the Air by Nora Roberts. It was one of the first adult witch related books I remember reading a long time ago. It’s technically the first book in a series, but I’m not a big fan of the other books. The characterization in this one, the growth and discovery, makes re-reads of Dance a fun experience.

 

Werewolf
The Perfect Book to Read at Night.

 

Blood and Chocolate by Annette Curtis Klause. Vivian is a loup-garoux, a young girl that can transform into a wolf at will. The change is something she relishes, but there’s tragedy in her story. Her pack is leaderless after her father was killed when humans attacked, fearful of what her family was, and now they’re seeking refuge with relatives. Trying to make sense of where she belongs, girl or wolf, that world or this, Blood and Chocolate was one of my favorite books growing up.

 

Frankenstein
A Book that Truly Shocked You.

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera. This was my first ever Adam Silvera book. I received it in an OwlCrate box. This was before I knew what kind of books Adam wrote, what kind of heartbreak might be in store. Well, I know now. This ending, I never could have expected. It’s a terrific book, but be warned, I think you’ll need a handkerchief for this one.

 

The Devil
A Dark, Evil Character.

Christopher from The Silver Kiss by Annette Curtis Klause. Annette really does know how to write books perfect for this season. Christopher is a sadistic vampire who is over three hundred years old, but looks like he’s six. That’s terrifying enough, but he’s had all that time to practice his cruelty and spends much of the book menacing his brother, Simon.

 

Grim Reaper
A Character that Should Never Have Died.

This is the post for doubles, isn’t it? lol Rufus and Mateo from They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera. Granted, we had fair warning, but it still WASN’T fair. ;_;

 

Zombie
A Book that Made You “Hungry” for More.

Vicious by V.E. Schwab. These books could go on forever and I’d never be sick of them. I’m nearly done with Vicious as I’m writing this post and luckily the sequel has just been published. I can only hope that V.E. will decided to writer another Villains book in five years.

 

Gargoyle
A Character that You Would Protect at All Cost.

Shukumar & Shoba from Interpreter of Maladies. My heart breaks every time I read this story, the first in the collection of short tales.

 

Vampire
A Book that Sucked the Life Out of You.

Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow. It took a lot out of me to read this, but I would do it again because it meant a lot to me, reading Charlie’s story.

 

Ghost
A Book that Still Haunts You.

Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson. The story itself was intense, but the conclusion was so wild, so far from what I was expecting that it still has me puzzling over it. There is still that ghost in my head of this book, of Mary B. Addison’s story.

 

Demon
A Book that Really Scared You.

I’m not sure I have a great answer for this. Books don’t tend to scare me, exactly. Shock, maybe, but not scare, exactly. I might say You by Caroline Kepnes. It features a character named Joe. The story is told from his perspective and while I thought he was a great character, he was definitely a bad guy. He did some terrible things, least of which was the lengths he went to in stalking Beck, the object of his obsession. Those lengths, how easy it was to do the things he did, were kind of frightening/scary when I think about it.

 

Skeleton
A Character You Have a Bone to Pick With.

Lira from To Kill a Kingdom. What. the. Heck. I picked this book up because it sounded like it was going to be epic. Lira started out so dark, the scourge of the seas who ripped the hearts out of princes’ chests. WHAT HAPPENED? I never understood the choices she made that lead her to the person she was in the end. I was sorely disappointed and I would love to have a talk.

 

Mummy
A Book You Would Preserve Throughout Time.

Children of Blood and Bones by Tomi Adeyemi. Not only is it physically beautiful, but the story is inspired, there’s a lot of reading to it, and the basis of the folklore, the magic, and the characters need to reach more people. Not just today, but in the future. Seeing this book well preserved on shelves in libraries throughout the world, public or private, would be a gem in the literary world.

 

Creepy Doll
A Cover too Scary to Look At.

The Girl From the Well by Rin Chupecho. It’s like a shot from a classic horror movie, this one. I so want to read it and I will, but maybe I’ll put a book cover on it or something first.

 

The Monster Mash
It’s Fun to Be with Friends on Halloween!
Tag Your Friends!

 

I’m tagging Tiana (The Book Raven), Literary Lion, and Rae (Thrifty Bibliophile).

 

 

 

 

 

All media (pictures, quotes, etc.) belong to the respective owners and are used here solely for the purpose of review and commentary.

Review: the Chaos inside Me by Elisabet Salas

Frequently reviewed as “raw”, Elisabet Salas’s debut poetry collection “the Chaos inside Me” truly lays bare some of our most intimate emotions. The pieces within and the collection as a whole do not rely on an overabundance of hyper-stylized words, instead focusing on getting to the reader with the sharp lines and curves of language, both literally and figuratively.

the Chaos inside Me has within it the power to make its readers feel seen. This is something achievable in standard books though it’s hard to find because there are so many other aspects in longer form storytelling, but poetry strips all of that extraneous detail away. Elisabet’s book offers the chance to really really feel like there are other people that have these thoughts.

40667007

 

Purchase Links:  Amazon  –  Goodreads

Published: 8 November 2018

Publisher: Self-published

Category: Poetry

Summary: the Chaos inside Me, is a journey of self discovery. It is a story about owning the emotions that live inside the heart and the head. It is the cathartic experience of pain and loss but also the bittersweet feelings of joy and the complexity of beauty. 


Elisabet expresses the unraveling of herself and the complexity of emotions that stemmed from heartache, her own mental health and the struggles of growing up and into a world with no precedence for a first generation child. This is the accumulation of three years of tears and long nights figuring out that chaos isn’t always a bad thing.

Rating:

Content Warnings: suicidal ideation, mentions of self harm (including bloody imagery), self deprecation, body dysphoria/weight, depression, abandonment, loneliness

Among the most poignant pieces was “mysteries & galaxies” because what is important to everyone, even as a subconscious thing? The need to know who we are. It might be simple to some, but for others, trying to figure out what our identity is can be a struggle on a daily basis. This particular poem early on encapsulates how identity can be as unfathomable as the distance between the stars.

“the voice of doubt” was a hard piece to read because it read very personally for someone with anxiety. As I was reading it, I felt a little sick to my stomach because it perfectly described what it was like to be inside my head, what it is that I fight against on a daily basis. It is so hard to describe that to people that are neurotypical because the words don’t always make sense, stumbling out of my mouth, but Elisabet wrote them, like they spilled out of my own head.

Elisabet makes good use of contrasting imagery in “Always looking” to highlight the inherent difficulty in finding one’s place. Typically harsh images clashing with typically soft, stereotypes of that nature, are one way, but there were also lines that pointed to other ways of finding solace, such as the clouds that allow sunlight to rest within. One doesn’t always need to be “on”; being within yourself is possible too and okay.

“Pain and beauty” was another poem that I liked because it tackled a problem that crops up a lot in this world, people seeing suffering as something beautiful. When the media portrays mental illness or self harm in movies or television shows, a lot of the time it gets shown as something beautiful, the character a idealized portrait that we as the audience are meant to love; or the self harm is somehow to be interpreted as a noble form of coping. Salas’s examination of this idealization of suffering, though brief, was strong and direct.

Chock full of words that reach out to readers and reveal the author’s experience simultaneously, the Chaos inside Me is a volume of poetry perfect for fans of Gretchen Gomez, Amanda Lovelace, and of good literary works with the ability to allow you to feel seen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

All media (pictures, quotes, etc.) belong to the respective owners and are used here solely for the purpose of review and commentary.