Waiting on Wednesday: Chaotic Good by Whitney Gardner

New WoW

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine in which we highlight a title we’re looking forward to reading. You can find their website here.

29960656

Chaotic Good by Whitney Gardner

Amazon  –  Barnes & Noble

Published: 13 March 2018

Publisher: Knopf

Category: Young Adult/Contemporary

Cosplay, comic shops, and college applications collide in this illustrated novel, perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Noelle Steveson!

Cameron’s cosplay–dressing like a fictional character–is finally starting to earn her attention–attention she hopes to use to get into the CalTech costume department for college. But when she wins a major competition, she inadvertently sets off a firestorm of angry comments from male fans.

When Cameron’s family moves the summer before her senior year, she hopes to complete her costume portfolio in peace and quiet away from the abuse. Unfortunately, the only comic shop in town–her main destination for character reference–is staffed by a dudebro owner who challenges every woman who comes into the shop.

At her twin brother’s suggestion, Cameron borrows a set of his clothes and uses her costuming expertise to waltz into the shop as Boy Cameron, where she’s shocked at how easily she’s accepted into the nerd inner sanctum. Soon, Cameron finds herself drafted into a D&D campaign alongside the jerky shop-owner Brody, friendly (almost flirtatiously so) clerk Wyatt, handsome Lincoln, and her bro Cooper, dragged along for good measure.

But as her “secret identity” gets more and more entrenched, Cameron’s portfolio falls by the wayside–and her feelings for Lincoln threaten to make a complicated situation even more precarious.

I became a fan of Whitney’s after reading her book You’re Welcome, Universe about a graffiti artist who is deaf and has to deal with being ratted out for her art and is summarily transferred to a non-specialized school. The prose she used to craft a contemporary world full of color, art, and emotion was a great read.

I consider myself a big geek and when I saw that her next novel would be centered around a female cosplayer dealing with trolls and a misogynistic comic shop owner, I was intrigued. It sounds like this book is going to be packed with nerd culture, much like Jen Wilde’s Queens of Geek. Any book that can make me appreciate this world even more is one I want to get my hands on!

There’s also apparently a lot of Dungeons & Dragons in the book, something I never got into because, sadly, there weren’t any players around that I could meet up with (anixety problems aside). I look forward to living vicariously through Cameron.

 

 

 

All pictures, quotes, and videos belong to their respective owners. I use them here solely for the purpose of review and commentary.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s