Be a Star, Wonder Woman! by Michael Dahl (Author) and Omar Lozano (Illustrator)

BeAStarWonderWoman

Amazon  –  Barnes & Noble  –  Goodreads

Published: 1 August 2017

Publisher: Picture Window Books

Category: Childrens (Picture Books)

As a new day dawns, a young girl faces the ultimate challenge: school! Follow along as she demonstrates her greatest superpower (sharing), overcomes her worst fear (the playground), and conquers her archenemy (the spelling test).With courage, kindness, and other heroic traits of DC Comics’ Wonder Woman, she’ll turn a difficult school day into an AMAZING ADVENTURE! Along with Omar Lozano’s bright, bold illustrations, bestselling author Michael Dahl (Bedtime for Batman and Good Morning, Superman) delivers an imaginative read-aloud for your littlest super heroes.

Rating: 3 Stars

When I requested this book, it was shortly before I went to see the Wonder Woman movie. I wanted to read this book because the art was very attractive for a picture book and I’ve been looking for things to read to my son. I didn’t realize at the time that this was part of a series from an author I’d previously reviewed: Michael Dahl, author of Bedtime for Batman, which was a 4 star read for me.

What I like about Dahl’s previous Batman book that carries over to his Wonder Woman book is the parallel story between Wonder Woman and the little girl in the story. While Wonder Woman is battling a super adversary, the main character is battling her own “adversaries”: the first day of school, sharing, being brave, meeting new people, etc.

I also like the diversity of the children in the schoolroom. There were several ethnicities represented.

I’m not quite sure who all the DC characters were except for the popular ones (Batgirl, Super Girl), which wasn’t a huge issue, but a small insert at the back with what their names are would’ve been appreciated as I don’t think I’ll be the only one whose child asks “who is that?” and possibly not be able to come up with an answer.

Now, while I liked the parallel stories, I also felt that the text of the book felt a wee bit disjointed between the two. I don’t think that a child (the intended audience) will make as many of the connections between Wonder Woman’s actions and the little girl’s without some explanation from whoever is reading to them. It may well make for a good reading time experience, but for a young one to read on their own, I’m not sure if they’ll like the story so much as the bright and brilliantly stylized art.

 

 

 

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

All pictures, quotes, and videos belong to their respective owners. I use them here solely for the purpose of review and commentary.
4 thoughts on “Be a Star, Wonder Woman! by Michael Dahl (Author) and Omar Lozano (Illustrator)

  1. I liked the concept for this but thought young readers might have difficulty following the parallel stories. I don’t think I would read it out loud for storytime, either. It might be better as a parent and child read.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That would makes things easier to absorb, the one on one reading. It would help if the parent were somewhat versed in DC characters as well. The art’s really good, though, and I’m curious what he’d do with a non “licensed” story.

      Like

      1. Yes, I thought the protagonist was super cute! And I liked the diversity of the characters as well.

        I think maybe some of the DC characters were supposed to be familiar from DC’s Super Hero High? (Is that what it’s called?) I remember I saw Bumblebee in there and thought she was an unusual character to include except she’s part of high school series now.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

