Audiobook Review: The Book of Dragons by E. Nesbit, Narrated by Karen Krause

Author: E. Nesbit

Narrator: Karen Krause

Length: 4h 53m

Publisher: Listen2aBook.com

Series: The Book of Dragons, Books 1-8

Genre: Classic Fantasy

add-to-goodreads-button

Edith (E.) Nesbit was a master at weaving imagination and real life into timeless fairy tales, with fantastic mythical creatures, princes and princesses, magic, and just the right touch of silliness. This is a collection of nine of her fairy tales with a common theme – Dragons! For children from five to 95, these stories are not to be taken seriously. Let your imagination run wild!

Rating: 2.5 Stars

I like dragons a lot. I cannot remember my very first book about them, but I have a feeling it was Dealing With Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede in which a princess becomes a dragon’s servant willingly. Quite the scandal!

When I saw this collection offered as a tour for Audiobookwork Promotions I thought that it sounded like it would be a good way to get back to dragon literature because, sadly, my books recently have been lacking in dragon characters. Unfortunately it did not turn out as well as I had hoped and I’ll be taking my review right from my Audible account, broken down into guided categories so I can explain just why this book didn’t work out for me.

As an aside, Karen Krause was a pretty good narrator. While the book started wearing on me and her by default, I think I’d be up for listening to another of her performances because maybe that story would turn out better and thus her work wouldn’t be diminished.

What did you like best about The Book of Dragons? What did you like least?

The narrator was a good match for fairy tales. She had the perfect read aloud, librarian-esque type voice that made the stories at least some what enjoyable.

The least enjoyable thing was the fact that most of the dragons were monsters that had to be destroyed and their motivations were next to nil.

What could E. Nesbit have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

I think a variation in her dragons would’ve made the collection more interesting. They came across very one note to me. Different settings didn’t mean different dragons beneath the surface.

What does Karen Krause bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

I probably would’ve put the book down a lot sooner if I had been reading this as a physical copy. Karen Krause’s performance reminded me of being read to as a child and the experience was a pleasant, nostalgic one.

If this book were a movie would you go see it?

As much as I love dragons, I don’t think so. Even if the dragons were better villains, I don’t think the collection as a whole was cohesive enough to make a film.

 

Are there any dragon books that you’re especially fond of? Do you prefer good, evil, or neutral dragons? Have you read The Book of Dragons by E. Nesbit? Let me know in the comment section below.

 

 

 

I received a copy of this book from the Audiobookwork Promotions in exchange for an honest review.

All pictures, quotes, and videos belong to their respective owners. I use them here solely for the purpose of review and commentary.
Leave a Reply

