Review: The Stereotypical Freaks (Forever Friends, #1) by Howard Shapiro

15995501

Amazon  –  Barnes & Noble  –  Goodreads

Published: 4 November 2012

Publisher: Animal Media Group

Category: Young Adult/Graphic Novel/Music

Four disparate high school seniors come together to compete in their school’s battle of the bands. Sharing a love for playing rock and roll, the members name the band “The Stereotypical Freaks” because they feel stereotyped by their classmates – smart kid, geek, star athlete and quiet weirdo… when in fact they know they are much more than those labels that have been placed on them.

When one member reveals life altering news, winning the competition takes on more of a meaning to each member. Scared and angry, upset and yet still with a lot of resolve they set out to win one for the good guys… will they?

Rating: 2 Stars

I remember, when I requested The Stereotypical Freaks, thinking that it sounded really cool. Music has been essential to some tough time in my life, in a lot of people’s lives I’m sure, and it brings the characters in this story together.

There was just a lot lacking in the book that the music theme couldn’t bring back up from down low, little things that added up to one big thing: I didn’t care for the book as much as I thought I would.

The Bad

  • The scene breaks that happened between chapters were jarring and didn’t make sense, like two mini-chapters got jammed together accidentally.
  • The characters didn’t flesh out more than their, well, stereotypes. Granted we were given insight into what their characters ought to have been, like the “quiet weirdo” who just wants to experience as much life as possible before the end, but that’s all these moments were: glimpses, brief interludes into what might have been.
  • The band’s music was difficult to suss out. There were recommendations at the beginning of each chapter, but it wasn’t clear in the text that these were songs that the kids were either playing or inspired by.

The Good

  • At the beginning of each chapter there were musical recommendations that were fun to search out on Spotify. It gave a little life to the book.
  • The art was a clean style that I liked, not too much fussiness.
  • It was a fast, easy read.

Summary

There was a lot of potential for this to be fun, but I didn’t get that sense from reading it. There are two more books in the series, but I don’t think I’ll be continuing on. As dull as I found it, I both don’t really want to continue and I also felt like this story was done, so I’m fine with where I left things.

 

 

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
All pictures, quotes, and videos belong to their respective owners. I use them here solely for the purpose of review and commentary.
3 thoughts on “Review: The Stereotypical Freaks (Forever Friends, #1) by Howard Shapiro

Leave a Reply

