Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Want on a Desert Island

toptentuesday

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find the prompts here.

TTT is on hiatus for a bit, so in the meantime I’m going to back through topics that I might have missed. They’ve brought us so many great prompts over the years that there are plenty to choose from, especially if I go back to before my time started in blogging.

The one I chose for this week is “Books I’d Want on a Desert Island”. It feels especially appropriate this week not only because of the intense heat I’m experiencing in my area at the moment, but I feel like I can really relate to people stuck on a desert island at the moment. And so, here are the books I’d want along with me for that ride (assuming I’m stuck there and cannot get off, no matter what I do. No “How to Build a Raft” rescue here):

4569081

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith

This book would make the list because it is one of the few that I can reread time after time and never get sick of reading. I haven’t been keeping track, but I’d guess I’d read it at least a dozen times in the last couple of years. That’s the kind of story that I’d want if I were stuck on a desert island.

23363928

The Library at Mount Char by Scott Hawkins

I saw this recommended on Twitter ages ago and I think it would be a great book for a desert island trip/escape/sentence. It has a library in it, so it’s automatically a win for me, but it sounds like it has deeper philosophical thought to it as well. I haven’t read it yet, but I think bringing along some new books to the island would be a good way to keep things fresh.

282457071

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

I love books about conventions. I miss going to them because even if I can’t interact with people particularly well, at least I can be of the crowd even if I’m not a part of it. Does that make sense? Anyway, this book was diverse, fun, and had a lot of great fandom moments that would bring good thoughts to a desert island.

34320324

Lost for Words by Stephanie Butland

Just as I like books about conventions, books about bookshops are also high on my list of topics I want to read about. This book isn’t a fast read, but it isn’t slow, either. It is a good, solid read, like literary oatmeal (that’s a good thing, trust me), that goes back and forth in time as the reader learns about the main character, Loveday, her childhood, and her more recent past with an abusive relationship that is encroaching on her present day.

17572327

The Princess Bride by William Goldman

I mean, this says it right on the cover: true love and high adventure. That’s certain to take my mind off being on a desert island. I chose this edition specifically because it is illustrated and the artist did a fantastic job of bringing the characters to life. They’re absolutely gorgeous!

9673436

The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick

Brian Selznick’s books have a unique format: they’re 50% charcoal drawings, 50% writing. I love the blending that he does between the two styles and Hugo’s story has invention, bookishness, sadness, friendship, and more. It’s also quite a brick of a book, so there’s quite a bit of reading to it.

22663352

Blackbird Fly by Erin Entrada Kelly

The plot of Blackbird Fly has a lot to do with music, not to mention the culture clash between the Philippines and the U.S. I’m not sure I could count off all the music mentioned in this book, but if I could, reading this book would remind me of those songs and singing them might help to pass the times.

7619412

Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan

From what I remember, I’ve been to at least half of the places that Dash and Lily go in their journey around NYC. Being able to picture that would surely keep my mind off the desert island I’m stuck on, not to mention it takes place around Christmas, so that lovely cold air and snow would be a great thing to have in mind.

33299414

The Search for Aveline by Stephanie Rabig & Angie Bee

This is, hands down, my favorite book about pirates. The Sappho is a ship that embraces all walks of life, loves all who step foot on board and become a part of their family. Captain Harry and her crew, learning their stories, was a joy earlier this year and being able to read that again as one of ten books on an island would be awesome. It has some sad times, some really bad moments, but it also has the members of the crew finding a home, finding their family.

18049311

The Rook by Daniel O’Malley

This book took me awhile to get into the first time I read it, but once I did I found it really fascinating. There’s missing time, questionable identity, murder, political intrigue, and, oh yeah, MAGICAL ABILITIES. There’s all kinds of weird shit that goes down in this book and it’s twisty enough to keep your interest once you start following Myfanwy as she tries to recover her memory and figure out who she is.

 

What kind of books would you want with you on a desert island? Would you want books you’d never read before or old favorites? Let me know in the comment section down below.

 

 

 

All pictures, quotes, and videos belong to their respective owners. I use them here solely for the purpose of review and commentary.
Leave a Reply

