Waiting on Wednesday: Inkmistress by Audrey Coulthurst

New WoW

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine in which we highlight a title we’re looking forward to reading. You can find their website here.

My TBR is enormous, well on its way to 2000 books. What can I say, there is an amazing back catalogue out there and more good books are being released every day. The book I want to talk about today is Inkmistress by Audrey Coulthurst.

32610537

Amazon  –  Author’s Website  –  Barnes & Noble  –  Goodreads

Published: 6 March 2018

Publisher: Balzer & Bray

Category: Fantasy/LGBTQ+/Young Adult

Asra is a demigod with a dangerous gift: the ability to dictate the future by writing with her blood. To keep her power secret, she leads a quiet life as a healer on a remote mountain, content to help the people in her care and spend time with Ina, the mortal girl she loves.

But Asra’s peaceful life is upended when bandits threaten Ina’s village and the king does nothing to help. Desperate to protect her people, Ina begs Asra for assistance in finding her manifest—the animal she’ll be able to change into as her rite of passage to adulthood. Asra uses her blood magic to help Ina, but her spell goes horribly wrong and the bandits destroy the village, killing Ina’s family.

Unaware that Asra is at fault, Ina swears revenge on the king and takes a savage dragon as her manifest. To stop her, Asra must embark on a journey across the kingdom, becoming a player in lethal games of power among assassins, gods, and even the king himself. Most frightening of all, she discovers the dark secrets of her own mysterious history—and the terrible, powerful legacy she carries in her blood.

I will admit, first and foremost, that I haven’t read Audrey’s other book, Of Fire and Stars, though I did receive it in an OwlCrate last year. I’ve been meaning to, I really have, and since Inkmistress doesn’t come out until March next year, I just might be doing that sooner rather than later.

Audrey has said that the working title for this book was “Bisexuality and Bloodshed”. That alone would be enough to get me interested, but then I saw this summary and I have so many questions about how the tale will go down that I’m jumping up and down, hoping to get an arc (if there are any). I’ll definitely be preordering it once my paycheck comes through.

First of all, there’s a demigod with a dangerous gift that is trying to prevent it from getting out. Then there’s her beloved girlfriend whose family is in danger and of course the demigod wants to help, but that ends up being the catalyst for a lot of dangerous stuff that goes down, including her now ex becoming a dragon. O.O Say whaaat?

Now Asra the demigod has to re-enter the world and…do what? Save her ex? Save the king her ex is going to kill? What will her mission end up being? Will she be able to do it without her powers taking over? We’re going to have to wait and see, unfortunately, but March will be here before you know it! 🙂

 

 

 

All pictures, quotes, and videos belong to their respective owners. I use them here solely for the purpose of review and commentary.
4 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Inkmistress by Audrey Coulthurst

    1. I hadn’t looked at the reviews for the other one. Was it that bad? 3.6 isn’t too bad a rating, luckily, so it’s still on my list. Usually once something dips below 3 is when I get worried about quality, maybe even a lower 3 if I’m being really picky.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lol 3.6 isn’t great for me, I usually hold off to see how the sequel fares. From what I heard, the characters/romance was awesome but the story over all was boring 🤷🏻‍♀️

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

