BookNerd Addict Blog Tour – The Color Project by Sierra Abrams Tour: Review!

thumbnail_BANNER

thumbnail_Book Cover

The Color Project by Sierra Abrams

Release Date: July 18 2017

Publisher: Gatekeeper Press

Amazon  –  Author’s Website  –  Barnes & Noble  –  Book Depository  –  Goodreads

Bernice Aurora Wescott has one thing she doesn’t want anyone to know: her name. That is, until Bee meets Levi, the local golden boy who runs a charity organization called The Color Project.

Levi is not at all shy about attempting to guess Bee’s real name; his persistence is one of the many reasons why Bee falls for him. But while Levi is everything she never knew she needed, giving up her name would feel like a stamp on forever. And that terrifies her.

When unexpected news of an illness in the family drains Bee’s summer of everything bright, she is pushed to the breaking point. Losing herself in The Color Project—a world of weddings, funerals, cancer patients, and hopeful families that the charity funds—is no longer enough. Bee must hold up the weight of her family, but to do that, she needs Levi. She’ll have to give up her name and let him in completely or lose the best thing that’s ever happened to her.

For fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson, THE COLOR PROJECT is a story about the three great loves of life—family, friendship, and romance—and the bonds that withstand tragedy.

Rating: 3.75 Stars

Within a few chapters I was convinced that Sierra Abrams’s The Color Project was a contemporary that could convince me to try more of them. I do read a fair amount, but contemporary is not normally my go-to genre. There were, however, a lot of facets in this book that had me enjoying this book a lot.

The family and friends dynamic felt really authentic, especially with the siblings Bee, Astrid, Millie, and Tom. These sisters and brother, while they had moments of bickering and rough edges, displayed love for each other that felt real. Then there were the boys at Mike’s car shop. Mike and the rest are friends of Bee’s older brother, Tom, and they could easily ignore her as an “annoying younger sister” character, but even with the teasing it’s like she’s a part of their family.

Bee’s attraction and falling in love with Levi also felt good. It didn’t feel rushed, which I tend to shy away from. Her stumblings, her blushing, it was cute and added to the sweet feeling of the book.

Levi was a character that I wish I knew in real life. He was a very industrious young man who knew that he wanted to help people of all kinds and, even though he could’ve asked his father for anything when he left Levi’s mother, he asked for control of a charity in order to do some good. That’s huge! I don’t think I’ve seen that kind of character in real life often, which is a shame.

There were little details in the book that I liked as well. Within each chapter, for example, separating certain scenes were little flowers with a leaf off each side. Even in black and white it was a lovely illustration that reminds the reader of Bee’s job as and passion for being a florist. There were also books mentioned constantly, which really speaks to the author’s nature as a bookworm, and of course there were specific authors mentions (Green, Stiefvater, Rowling) which made Bee more familiar, sharing similar tastes in books (though I wouldn’t say quite such a hard no to Harlequin like her). 😉

I did have a couple of issues, which you might have guessed from this being a 4 star book rather than a 5 star. There were some consistency issues, which I’m hoping will be cleared up before the final book is released (a sweater changing color in the same scene with no explanation, lighting at 8 p.m. in the summer, time zones being wrong, attention called to an amount of wording that gets the amount wrong). There was one character that, aside from the pretentious father of the love interest, annoyed me.

Albert was a volunteer at The Color Project and we don’t get to know much about him except that one of his habits is that, when people are rude to him, he throws glitter at them or blows it in their face. Not only is that dangerous, especially if they’re working at a charity with some clients being people with medical issues, but it’s rude in and of itself. Albert also doesn’t seem to have a scope for rudeness, such as well he blows glitter in Millie’s face when she asks his name. There’s no context for the action and while the others at The Color Project will say he’s annoying for doing it, no one ever does anything about stopping it.

The pacing also got snagged about halfway through. Around the halfway mark, things felt like they were beginning to drag. I still wanted to keep going, so it wasn’t to a standstill, but I definitely felt like there was maybe a bit too much time being spent on in-between times rather than main-action scenes.

Something that confused me was the fact that the summary made the secrecy of Bee’s name sound like a dire secret she had to keep or something bad would happen. I kind of kept expecting something to crop up that would explain why it was promoted so much, but it felt like in the beginning it wasn’t much more than she was embarrassed by it, though I believe that as the book starting to move into the finals acts that it became something of a defense mechanism; Levi even makes a comment to that effect at one point.

The secondary part of the summary, the news of an illness (an understatement), did not get discussed really until the midway point of the novel, around the same time that the pacing lagged. There were hints, but with so much book left afterwards it made the revelations feel unbalanced. Once it was, however, the way the family handled it felt truly heartfelt and heartbreaking, so while the story got sad, it improved in a way.

There were a few stumbles along the way in The Color Project, though I think that Sierra did recover on most of them. I still think the book felt a bit longer than it needed to be, especially for a contemporary, but it was overall a pretty good read, especially with the musical chapter headings giving it that extra oomph of atmosphere.

Special Feature – A Playlist!

What I loved most about this book, that extra oomph I just mentioned, is that those chapter/song titles were so easy to find and add on a Spotify playlist and listen to the song as I was reading the relevant chapter. Doing that made the experience more special because each song was more or less the length of time it took me to read the chapter, with a few exceptions, so I really got the sense of why Sierra chose those songs to represent her words.

If you’d like to listen to The Color Project Playlist I created, click on the bold playlist title there and it should take you right to the playlist. If you’ve got an arc and have the chance to listen ahead of the release date for the book, great. If not, between not and July 18th would be a great time to listen to the variety of musicians on this list. I had not heard of a lot of them prior to reading The Color Project and was really pleased to be exposed to new music.

About the Author

thumbnail_Author Pic

At 7 years old, Sierra Abrams decided that one day she would publish a book. For over a decade, in between exploring other career options, she kept coming back to that very first dream. Now her life consists of writing books of all kinds…Kissing books, angsty books, killing books, whimsical books, and sometimes books that are all of the above. When she’s not writing, you can find her reading, traveling, consuming sushi, or daydreaming about Henry Cavill.Website  –  Twitter  –  Instagram  –  Goodreads

 

 

Rafflecopter Giveaway

To celebrate the blog tour for The Color Project, you can enter a Rafflecopter giveaway to win the tote bag pictured below! Just click on the link below the photo and you’ll be take to the appropriate page.

Screenshot_20170613-221953

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Blog Tour:

  There are a TON of other stops on this tour and all kinds of posts to check out from interviews to more reviews, excerpts to guest posts, and creative posts as well! Be sure to check them all out at the links below. 🙂

Monday June 19
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST – Interview – Brittany´sBookRambles

In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST – Review – ReadsandThoughts

 
Tuesday, June 20
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST – Excerpt of The Color Project – TheYABookTraveler

In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST – Review – TheHermitLibrarian

Wednesday, June 21
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST – Review – YAandWine

In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST -Guest Post – LimeLightLiterature

Thursday, June 22
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST – Review – AvdReader

In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST – DIY: The Color Project Bookmarks – LoisReadsBooks

Friday, June 23
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST – Excerpt of The Color Project – TheReader&The Chef

In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST – Mini Review & Favorite Quotes – TheLifeOfABookNerdAddict

Saturday, June 24
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST – Interview – CurlyHairBibliophile

In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST – Mood Board – WonderfullyBookish

Sunday, June 25
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST – Review – MorrissaReads

In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST – Guest Post – AThousandWordsAMillionBooks

Monday, June 26

In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST – Ways To Support Your Favorite Causes – TalesOfTheRavenousReader

In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST – Review – InkDin

Tuesday, June 27

In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST – Review – ILoveBooksGirl

In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST –  Interview – Brooke-Reports

Wednesday, June 28

In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST – Book Hangover  – FablesandFae

In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST –  Guest Post – Tiffthebooknerd

Thursday, June 29

In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST – Review – BookWyrmingThoughts

In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST – Excerpt – SimplyNicollette

Friday, June 30

In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST – Review – LittleRedsReviews

In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST –  Creative Post – LostInEverAfter


Saturday, July 1st

In The Morning at 8:00 AM ESTReview – Biscottosbooks

In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST –  Interview – ANewLookOnBooks

 
 

I received a free copy of this book as part of a book tour in exchange for an honest review.

All pictures, quotes, and videos belong to their respective owners. I use them here solely for the purpose of review and commentary.
Advertisements

3 thoughts on “BookNerd Addict Blog Tour – The Color Project by Sierra Abrams Tour: Review!

  1. I’ve been seeing this one everywhere! I wasn’t really into the plot (like you, I’m not a big fan of contemporaries and, to be honest, felt this one was a bit too boring and mundane for me) but your review was able to pinpoint so many wonderful things about it that I might just give it a go 🙂
    I really hope all the inconsistencies get fixed before the book is released because it would be a shame to have so many obvious mistakes in such a pretty book. I mean, look at that cover! Gorgeous ❤
    Lovely review, Heather!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s