Top 5 Wednesdays: Book Recommendations for Ravenclaws

118368

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and created by Lainey from Gingerreadlainey.

Top 5 Wednesday is a lot of fun, mostly because I get to recommend books to you and/or talk about different books/fandoms I love. This week’s topic combines a lot of favorites, mainly a) books b) Harry Potter and asks me to c) recommend books based on my Hogwarts house!

It should come as no surprise to anyone that I’m a #Ravenclaw and this week I was super excited/pressured because there are so many books that can fit for this topic because what are Ravenclaws if not enormous book worms?

I’m going to choose, for my Top 5 Recommendations for Ravenclaws, books that are on my TBR and I think embody the Ravenclaw spirit/mind. Some have been on the list for ages, some are relatively new, but all have something in them that brings this noble house to my mind.

893136

The Book Thief by Markus Zuzak

The main character, Liesl, might or might not be a Ravenclaw herself, possibly a Gryffindor, but the importance of books can’t be ignored. Taking place during World War II, when the Nazis, among their many atrocities, burned books by the hundreds, trying to obscure knowledge and ideas of people they were afraid of. Safeguarding those books by stealing them is something, I think, that Ravenclaws would admire.

11127

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

The Wizarding World is full of magic, but what if you were a Muggle born Wizard, going into that world, or even a Wizard intrigued by stories of Muggle children falling into another realm with magical creatures you recognized? These stories have a lot of facets that would be fascinating to a Ravenclaw.

Robert Langdon series by Dan Brown

I’ve read the first two books in this series, though I don’t remember them all that well. What I do remember about them, and from watching the movies, is that the puzzles and mysteries, however many liberties the author took with historical elements, are a lot of fun and exhilarating. Ravenclaws may have a reputation for being snooty, but I think we’d have a lot of fun enjoying the historical themes, underlying mysteries throughout time, and the action that Professor Langdon gets involved it. It’s like a bookish Ravenclaw getting thrust into the world of adventure, but on the page. Still a safe distance. 😉

791098

A Gentle Madness by Nicholas A. Basbanes

This book embodies what it means to be a bookworm, including the expense and length we might go to in order to add to our collections. While I think this book might center on editions and the like, I think the same can be said of those of us that collect solely for the love of stories.

7619412

Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan

This book starts off in The Strand, the bookstore to visit if you’re ever in NYC. If that doesn’t capture the attention of a Ravenclaw, the clues/dares that Lily leaves for Dash and the adventure they have crisscrossing the city ought to.

 

Are you a Ravenclaw? Would any of these books make it onto your TBR? Or are you from another house and think one of these books might cross over? Let me know in the comment section down below.

 

 

 

All pictures, quotes, and videos belong to their respective owners. I use them here solely for the purpose of review and commentary.
2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesdays: Book Recommendations for Ravenclaws

Leave a Reply

