Internet Famous by Danika Stone: Interview with the Author!

thumbnail_Banner 5

sundaystreetteambanner

I’m happy to once again be teaming up with the Sunday Street Team. This time, we’re hosting the blog tour for Internet Famous, Danika Stone’s newest book, all about Madison Nakama, a pop culture blogger who seems to have it all, but has to face the possibility of her real life clashing with her online persona when an Internet troll appears on the scene.

31145123

Goodreads

Preorder: Amazon (US), Amazon (UK), Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

High school senior and internet sensation Madison Nakama seems to have it all: a happy family, good grades, and a massive online following for her pop-culture blog. But when her mother suddenly abandons the family, Madi finds herself struggling to keep up with all of her commitments.

Fandom to the rescue! As her online fans band together to help, an online/offline flirtation sparks with Laurent, a French exchange student. Their internet romance—played out in the comments section of her MadLibs blog—attracts the attention of an internet troll who threatens the separation of Madi’s real and online personas. With her carefully constructed life unraveling, Madi must uncover the hacker’s identity before he can do any more damage, or risk losing the people she loves the most… Laurent included.

To celebrate my day on the blog tour, I have the pleasure of sharing my interview with Danika. I thought that, given this chance, talking about favorite pop culture fandoms and writing might be just the ticket!

The Hermit Librarian: If you had to pick one fandom to write about for the rest of your blogging career, which would it be? What kind of posts would you write? What do you want us to know about this fandom as it relates to you?

Danika: Ack! Why do I have to choose?!? There are SO many good fandoms (and I belong to a lot!) But if I had to choose just one, I’d go with the Star Wars universe simply because it’s got longevity and there are MANY new fans joining in.

I would totally write fanfic. No question. 🙂

As to how it relates to me, I loved Star Wars when I was a kid, and I’ve never lost that love. One of my favorite parts of that fandom – as it relates to me – is how much of a story it is about people, not just massive battles. (Though they happen too.) I love it!

THL: Fandom = convention! If you could tour the world and bring your books (Internet Famous, All the Feels, etc) to any video game/book/anime/etc. conventions, which would they be?

Danika: #FACT: I’m taking Internet Famous to San Diego Comic Con this July! I am not certain which panels I’m on yet, but I’ll definitely be at the Swoon Reads booth signing books and taking pics with fans. Come see me!

Last year, I launched All the Feels at Dragon Con which was the most AMAZING experience! It felt like my fandom life coming full circle.

THL: Five fandoms nearest and dearest to your heart

Danika:

  • The 100
  • The entire Marvel universe
  • The Walking Dead
  • Star Wars

  • Outlander

THL: Harry Potter: Your house and the best members of it

Danika: I am 100% Hufflepuff. Best members? Probably my friend Keith who tries to make everyone happy, Finn (The Force Awakens), and Laurent of course (Internet Famous). All of them are true cinnamon buns.

THL: 3 Best Pieces of Advice You’ve Gotten as an Author/You’d Give as an Author to Bloggers

Danika: Your job is writing first, promotions second.

A good job done now is better than a perfect job never finished.

Every step of the way is the ‘best’ place to be. Stop waiting to be happy about what you’ve accomplished. Celebrate it ALL!

About the Author

thumbnail_DanikaStonePortrait2

Facebook  –  Twitter  –  Instagram  –  linkedin

YouTube  –  Tumblr  –  Pinterest

Danika Stone is an author, artist, and educator who discovered a passion for writing fiction while in the throes of her Masters thesis. A self-declared bibliophile, Danika now writes novels for both teens (All the Feels and Internet Famous) adults (Edge of Wild and Intaglio). When not writing, Danika can be found hiking in the Rockies, planning grand adventures, and spending far too much time online. She lives with her husband, three sons, and a houseful of imaginary characters in a windy corner of Alberta, Canada.

Ms. Stone is represented by Morty Mint of Mint Literary Agency.

Rafflecopter Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

All pictures, quotes, and videos belong to their respective owners. I use them here solely for the purpose of review and commentary.
2 thoughts on “Internet Famous by Danika Stone: Interview with the Author!

  1. Dear Heather,

    Thank you so much for being a part of the tour and sharing your Interview with Danika! I adore the Marvel and Star Wars fandoms (and The 100 of course) and I had such fun reading. You come up with such great questions.

    Have a lovely weekend,
    Aditi

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

