Review: The Djinn Falls in Love & Other Stories

307535171

Stories by: Mahvesh Murad (Editor), Jared Shurin (Editor), Neil Gaiman, Amal El-Mohtar, Catherine King, Claire North, Hermes, Jamal Mahjoub, James Smythe, JY Yang, Kamila Shamsie, Kirsty Logan, K.J. Parker, Kuzhali Manickavel, Maria Dahvana Headley, Monica Byrne, Nnedi Okorafor, Sami Shah, Saad Hossain, Sophia Al-Maria, Usman Malik, E.J. Swift, Helene Wecker

Amazon  –  Barnes & Noble  –  Goodreads

Published: 14 March 2017

Publisher: Solaris

Category: Short Stories/Fantasy

A fascinating collection of new and classic tales of the fearsome Djinn, from bestselling, award-winning and breakthrough international writers.

Imagine a world filled with fierce, fiery beings, hiding in our shadows, in our dreams, under our skins. Eavesdropping and exploring; savaging our bodies, saving our souls. They are monsters, saviours, victims, childhood friends.

Some have called them genies: these are the Djinn. And they are everywhere. On street corners, behind the wheel of a taxi, in the chorus, between the pages of books. Every language has a word for them. Every culture knows their traditions. Every religion, every history has them hiding in their dark places. There is no part of the world that does not know them.

They are the Djinn. They are among us.

With stories from: Nnedi Okorafor, Neil Gaiman, Helene Wecker, Amal El-Mohtar, Catherine King, Claire North,  E.J. Swift, Hermes (trans. Robin Moger), Jamal Mahjoub, James Smythe, J.Y. Yang, Kamila Shamsie, Kirsty Logan, K.J. Parker, Kuzhali Manickavel, Maria Dahvana Headley, Monica Byrne, Saad Hossein, Sami Shah, Sophia Al-Maria and Usman Malik.

Rating: 4 Stars

I initially requested this book because I saw it included stories by Neil Gaiman and Maria Dahvana Headley, but once I started reading it I realized there were so many more stories in it that I would come to treasure.

Some of the stories were pleasant to read in my own time, such as The Congregation by Kamila Shamsie, but others felt like they would be better read aloud. Hurrem and the Djinn by Claire North had that precise feel, that of a story being told to me as opposed to one that I was reading. While reading it I felt like I was tripping over some of the sentences, but if I took a moment and read the sentence aloud to someone next to me, the words flowed more easily, sounded more like a fantastical tale that could be passed down or along.

My favorite by far was Reap by Sami Shah. It flew in the face of any expectation or portrayal of djinn I’d ever seen before and was very intense. I was afraid, nervous, and a great many things. @Aimalfarooq on Twitter warned me not to read it at night and did I listen? Nope! Haha, while I don’t regret reading it, I might suggest that if you have a tendency to be nervous in the dark, maybe leave this one for the daytime. Trust me.

This was a great collection of shorts stories. With so many of them, the amount of ones I liked to ones I didn’t care for as much was far higher than I expected. With collections like this with so many authors, it’s hard to tell sometimes how it will go quality wise because there are different factors to take into account, such style, voice and the like.

Would I recommend this collection? Very much Yes!

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

All pictures, quotes, and videos belong to their respective owners. I use them here solely for the purpose of review and commentary.
2 thoughts on “Review: The Djinn Falls in Love & Other Stories

  1. Oh this sounds magical and amazing!! I barely ever read like short story/anthology thingies but the few I’ve read have been plenty of fun. And that’s awesome that one of the stories was freaktastic. LOVELY. I do like the scary ones! 😜

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

