Top 5 Wednesday: Summer Reads I’m Looking Forward To

118368

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and created by Lainey from Gingerreadlainey.

In my corner of the world things are heating up; Summer officially begins 21 June and while that doesn’t mean much since I work year round and my son attends a summer session of school, it does get me to thinking about what kind of books I read during the summer.

To me, Summer is the time for contemporaries and Winter is the time for fantasy books. I read those genres all the year through, but during these seasons there seems to be an overabundance of those particular ones. For today’s Top 5 Wednesday topic, I’m going to share with you the Top 5 Summer Reads I’m looking forward to reading this year, all of which are contemporary novels.

28458598

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

I’ve got a copy of this and admittedly have started it a little early, but since it feels like summer already around here, I figure that’s okay. It takes place during the summer, Dimple is a strong smart character, Rishi is the biggest sweetheart so far, and I cannot wait to  share this book with the rest of the world.

32078787

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

Pretty much any Sarah Dessen book is a good read for the summer, but this will be her latest one so there’s that. The thing I love about her books is that they all feel like they were made for summer. Three of her books even take place in the perfect beach town, Colby, North Carolina (based on Emerald Isles, North Carolina). I don’t think Once and For All is based in Colby, but there might be a mention and that would be enough for me.

30312700

Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett

Film geeks. Surfing town. This book just screams fun to me. I’ve got it queued up and ready to go on my book table, so hopefully I can get some obligation books out of the way and settle into this on my balcony with a cool drink.

30038855

Letters to the Lost by Brigid Kemmerer

Admittedly not one of the happier titles on my list today, but it still sounds so good. Letters to the Lost is about two people who are exchanging letters through a graveyard & aren’t as much strangers as they’d think. It feels like there’s so much depth & sorrow & potential for feeling in this book, just from the summary, and I wish I’d been able to see the author at an event recently. *tears* I’ll have to settle for this book once I’ve got it.

27847785

Changes in Latitudes by Jen Malone

I haven’t heard much about this one, but it certainly sounds like it’ll be just the ticket. It’s about an unconventional “road” trip: the main character, Cassie, is being dragged along on a four month “road” (read: boat) trip from Oregon to Mexico with her recently divorced mother, younger brother, and a boat hand. She apparently knows a bit more about her mother’s role in the divorce than she’s letting on, she wants to keep that from her brother, and there’s a bit of a romance developing between her and Jonah, the boat hand. I love the ocean, so I hope that gets described and isn’t relegated to the background for the whole book.

So these are my five Summer Reads I’m Looking Forward To. Are any of these titles on your list as well? Have you read any advance copies of them? Let me know what you know in the comment section down below. 🙂

All pictures, quotes, and videos belong to their respective owners. I use them here solely for the purpose of review and commentary.
One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday: Summer Reads I’m Looking Forward To

Leave a Reply

