Top 5 Wednesday: Authors You Want to Read More From

118368

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and created by Lainey from Gingerreadlainey.

This week’s topic is about authors I would love to read more from.

We all know writing is tough. There’s a lot that goes into it, some I’m sure we can imagine and even more that goes on behind the scenes that we can’t. That doesn’t mean that I wouldn’t love to see more work from these authors should they ever release another book!

Auto-buy authors aside, these are five authors that I would love to read more books from.

2wq-hyyu

Evelyn Skye (The Crown’s Game, The Crown’s Fate)

Website

Reading these magical books about a contest to become the Imperial Enchanter of all Russia was an amazing experience. Evelyn made each moment beautiful and her writing is as magical as one of Vika or Nikolai’s enchantments. The Crown’s Fate releases 16 May 2017 and after that, what? We’ll have to wait and see what’s next.

afxpix-t

Karuna Riazi (The Gauntlet,  Toil & Trouble)

Twitter

The Gauntlet has been one of my favorite books of the year so far. A stunning debut by an amazing author, I think Karuna Riazi has a terrific grasp on writing diverse adventure stories. Her next work is part of a collection of short stories all about witches, which I could not be more thrilled about. Witches were always my favorite thing to read about as a kid, so this collection and this author coming together? Yes please!

I am really curious what kind of full length book she’ll write afterwards, though. Maybe 2018 will be the year to let us know, but I won’t rush. The anticipation is part of the buildup to excitement for the book release.

15119254

Tiffany D. Jackson (Allegedly)

Website

When I got Allegedly, I did not know what was in store for me. It’s a book all about justice and perception and allegations, but the writing took it to a whole other level. I think this was one of the first books I read this year that I read in one sitting. That’s saying something, because these days my attention span is getting pulled in a dozen different directions.

With her deft handling of the subject matter and the twists she was able to weave into her story, I’m very curious what kind of book Tiffany D. Jackson will write next. Will it be another contemporary or will she try her hand at another genre? I haven’t heard any plans about future works yet, so this is one instance of having to wait and see.

4370565

Erin Morgenstern (The Night Circus)

Website

I have been wondering, ever since I read The Night Circus, what Erin Morgenstern was going to write next. Another tale set in the world of Le Cirque de Reves? Another story entirely? What is going to happen? It’s been six years since the release of her debut novel and I’m still waiting, but I will keep waiting because her book, while a bit long at times, was filled with all kinds of enchanting and mystifying writing that made it a special book to be shared far and wide.

7154841

Jen Wilde (Queens of Geek)

Website

Queens of Geek made me so happy because it was chock full of fandom culture, convention aesthetic, and brilliant characters. I wish Jen Wilde could write a whole series based around conventions, but in the meantime I’d love to read more books from her. I know she has a zombie Apocalypse series out that I haven’t gotten to yet, but I have since downloaded the first book and will get to it. But, seriously…more SupaCon books please! 😀

All pictures, quotes, and videos belong to their respective owners. I use them here solely for the purpose of review and commentary.
2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Authors You Want to Read More From

Leave a Reply

