Top 5 Wednesday: Top SFF On My TBR

118368

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and created by Lainey from Gingerreadlainey.

Science fiction and fantasy novels have always been among my favorite novels. They take me away from reality even more than a contemporary novel could hope to. This week’s topic is about the top 5 on my TBR that I am most looking forward to.

7823592

Reckless by Cornelia Funke

I picked this up years ago when it first came out because I loved Funke’s other series that began with Inkheart and her book about a female knight, Igraine the Brave. I don’t know what happened to make me not read it at the time, but I didn’t and that feels like a mistake that needs to be rectified this year. I want to get back into Funke’s writing style (especially with the potential for a fourth Inkworld book on the horizon) and this series seems the perfect way to do it.

518848

Sabriel by Garth Nix

Truth be told I should be reading the whole Old Kingdom series, but as Sabriel is book one I’ll start there. This is a book that’s been on my shelf for almost 20 years and I cannot for the life of me remember whether I’ve read it or not. However, after reading some of Nix’s more recent works, I’ve decided to take the recommendations of many Twitter friends and get back to his most popular series.

 His Dark Materials series by Philip Pullman

I was going to say just one of  these books, but then I realized I’d need to reread the first three books anyway, so I’m including the entire His Dark Materials trilogy as well as the first book in the Book of Dust trilogy. I’d read the first book back before the movie came out (a film I liked, if I was somewhat let down by) and when I heard that there would be more stories after The Amber Spyglass, I was excited. This was an intriguing series that had some interesting political themes in a beautiful fantasy setting (I wish we had daemons in this world!).

30142139

Nemesis by Brendan Reichs

This sounds so neat! It has some creepy elements because the main character has been murdered every two years since she was 8 years old, so add terrifying to that description. Not only that, but all evidence of the crime is always gone every time she wakes up/is resurrected. This isn’t even the biggest problem of the book: the asteroid heading toward Earth is! What even is this book?!

30753517

The Djinn Falls in Love & Other Stories

To be honest, I saw this on NetGalley and instantly requested it because I saw that Neil Gaiman had a story in it and he is an autobuy author for me. Upon further inspection, there are a few authors I’m looking forward to reading, particularly Claire North (The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August).

 

What’s the number one SFF book you’re looking forward to reading in the near future? Are any of my selections on your TBR? Let me know in the comment section down below.

 

All pictures, quotes, and videos belong to their respective owners. I use them here solely for the purpose of review and commentary.
3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Top SFF On My TBR

  1. oh I totally vouch for Reckless’ complete AWESOME LEVELS. 😍 I’m in love with that series, I truly am. ❤ And I really want to read the rest of the Pullman books aaaand I didn't realise that's what Nemesis was about and now I need it.😱🎉🎉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You were the one that reminded me that I still need to read it! And that it was more than one book. Who knew?!

      I’m glad to have enlightened you. 😀 Nemesis sounds like all kinds of weird goodness, I’m really curious about it. It was in my recent B&N order, so hopefully I can review it soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

