Top 10 Tuesday: 10 Authors I Can’t Believe I’ve Met

toptentuesday

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find the prompts here.

I live in a rural town in NJ where I sincerely doubt we will ever host an author, simply because we are too small and there’s not much interest (which is a sad commentary on our society, but moving on). However, I am lucky in that I live near enough to New York City that I can take a short(ish) train ride and visit various book stores that do host authors.

With this in mind, I’ve been able to visit NYC more often recently and met a whole host of amazing human beings that have crafted some of my favorite stories.

Ransom Riggs, Tahereh Mafi, Jenny Han

The event that kicked off my going into the city more often was Ransom Riggs’s release of Library of Souls. My husband is a big fan of the series, while I was reading Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and finishing it on the way into the city. It was a fun event, though it was that trip that forced me to learn how to use the Maps function on my smart phone.

This was also my first trip to Tribeca, as the event was being held at a Barnes & Noble there. What a surprise it was to find that his wife, Tahereh Mafi, was also in attendance, as was Jenny Han. All three of them were incredibly kind to me, considering how much pain I was at the time (a throwback to the learning to use Maps – a lot of wrong turns lead to my legs hurting like there was no tomorrow).

A pro tip: take a bottle of Tylenol with you and pop one before you start walking and one at some point during the journey. Your feet and legs will thank you.

Erin Bowman, Alexandra Bracken, Susan Dennard

I went to meet these ladies at an event at Books of Wonder celebrating the release of Vengeance Road, Passenger, and Truthwitch. Not only were the books awesome, but this was the first time that I went to Books of Wonder, a children’s bookstore in NYC that was celebrating its 35th anniversary that year. It has since become my favorite bookstore to go to for signings and I have even learned how to get there without maps, so score one for muscle memory!

Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff

This was by far my favorite meeting of authors. I’m always nervous when I go to a signing event and while I do usually calm down a bit, these two put me at east the quickest and actually had me laughing for most of their talk. It was so much fun meeting them for their Gemina release event and I hope they’ll come back to the States for the release of the third Illuminae book.

 

8306309

Elise Kova

Elise was the first author I’d met whose street team I’d been a part of. The author of the Air Awakens and The Alchemists of Loom series, she was exceptionally kind to me. I was pretty nervous about meeting her and that night I’d had to bring my son with me, the first time he’d ever been in NYC, so my nerves were at an all time high. She was never anything but nice, though.

2wq-hyyu

Evelyn Skye

Evelyn Skye wrote one of my favorite books in recent memory, the one that inspired me to pick up more books with Russian inspired lore behind them such as The Bear and the Nightingale. Her book, The Crown’s Game, was an adventure that had magic, competition, and best of all, delicious sweets to imagine. If I were a better baker, I’d have made some for when I met her, but alas, I had to be content with well wishes and requests for more stories soon.

 

 

 

All pictures, quotes, and videos belong to their respective owners. I use them here solely for the purpose of review and commentary.
6 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: 10 Authors I Can’t Believe I’ve Met

    1. They’re so nice too! Meeting authors makes me nervous because you’re not sure how the author in your head will match up with the author in reality. I try not to build anyone up in my head, but for example, J.K. is a pretty big author to me. I’m sure if I ever meet her I’ll be a puddle of nothing because how do I talk to the mother of Harry Potter?!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. That’s so awesome that you have met so many popular authors! I have yet to read Shatter Me series or The Peculiar children’s and few others. I do like Jenny Han’s To All the Boys series 😊 Have you read all of their books?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Not all of them. I read the first Peregrine book, Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi, and the current two To All the Boys books by Jenny Han.

    Jenny’s books I didn’t like as much at first, but that was a case of listening to the audiobook and the narrator being terrible. The physical copy is so much better. I’m looking forward to the third and final book.

    It helps being kind of close to NYC to get to these events. Books of Wonder is my go-to store and they’re fabulous at running them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

