Top 10 Tuesday: Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR

toptentuesday

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find the prompts here.

Welcome back to the Broke and the Bookish team from their well deserved break. Thank you for providing us with more fun topics to join in on week after week! This particular week is a bit of an odd one for me to think about. It’s about the books on my Spring TBR, which normally would be lovely to envision, but within 24 hours apparently 18-24″ of snow is threatening to fall on my town so I’m still firmly in a Winter sort of mood. Nonetheless, I would like to share with you some of the books that I will be endeavoring to read and, indeed, looking forward to to get me through this most recent spat of cold weather.

25489134

The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

I’ve been finding a lot of Russian based stories lately, such as The Crown’s Game and The Crown’s Fate by Evelyn Skye. This one looks to be just as magical, maybe even more fantastical, as the main character Vasilisa summons the courage to confront a threat to her family in the middle of a winter-y landscape. This might seem a bit strange for a Spring time read, but oh well. lol

30199421

These Ruthless Deeds by Tarun Shanker & Kelly Zekas

I’m very curious about this one because really, a secret society that seems perfectly benign, helping people? What could possibly be wrong or potentially sinister about that? Alert: probably a butt load, as main character Evelyn is about to discover one way or the other.

28245707

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

I miss going to conventions, ever since my favorite one of many years moved locations and it became unfeasible for me to attend anymore. Getting to read about them is almost as good, so that was the first tic in the yes column for Queens of Geek. The second was the fact that there’s meant to be a well-portrayed bisexual lead in this book, according to buzz I’ve heard, which I look forward to.

33358438

Peter Darling by Austin Chant

This one sounds really unique to me and I’m anxious to get to it. It’s been ages since I’ve read or watched a Peter Pan adaptation and never have I seen one where Pan was transgender. I have many questions as to how the story will be different from what I remember of the original; I’m sure it will be an adventure to find out.

34334151

The Resistance: United in Love by Various Authors

I saw this recommended on someone’s blog and instantly wanted to request it for myself. It’s a collection of poems and essays by various authors, writing about their views on the current climate, events, and their hopes for the future.

34229387

Get It Together, Delilah! by Erin Gough

(alternate title: The Flywheel)

I was curious about this book because Delilah, or Del, is a strong person that takes over her father’s cafe when he leaves the country to mend his broken heart. I like books that take place in small cafes, so point there. Adding to that the mountain of other obstacles that Del is going to have to conquer (mean girls, a love sick friend that might go to jail, a big crush on dancer Rosa across the street), I’m looking forward to seeing how she does.

33117672

The Dining Car by Eric Peterson

Books about food and restaurants are a lot of fun, even if the stories aren’t always the happiest. I’m not sure which way this one will go, but it’s about a man who enlists as a bartender on a train that transports a snooty food critic across the country. The title and the cover reminded me of a restaurant my grandmother used to take me to that was housed in an old train car, so that’s a win for nostalgia.

29346880

The Gauntlet by Karuna Riazi

Steampunk Jumanji with a Middle Eastern flair. When I read that description in regards to The Gauntlet by Kaurna Riazi, I was instantly hooked. The cover reminded me more of the television show Legends of the Hidden Temple, but that or Jumanji would make for an excellent middle grade adventure story. A book from the imprint Salaam Reads, I’m anxious to read not only this but many more from this imprint featuring Muslim children and their families.

29344098293440982

Raising Royalty by Carolyn Harris

I initially picked this one up because the summary mentions William and Kate, the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge, and I’m fascinated by how together they seem to be. The concept of the book intrigues me because obviously parenting is going to be different between how I, a person whose family hovers around the national poverty line, raise my child versus the parents in this book. What are the differences, exactly? How did these royal families raise or interact with their children? What kind of expectations did they have? I’ll find out once I’ve read this, I’m sure.

27202450

But Then I Came Back by Estelle Laure

After a four star read with Estelle Laure’s last book, This Raging Light, I thought I’d try out her next book.

Are any of these books on your Spring TBR as well? Or on your TBR at all? Let’s chat about them! 😀

 

 

 

All pictures, quotes, and videos belong to their respective owners. I use them here solely for the purpose of review and commentary.

 

6 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR

Leave a Reply

