Top 10 Tuesday: 10 Favorite Books Quotes

toptentuesday

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find the prompts here.

The team over at The Broke and the Bookish is on hiatus until 7 March, taking a well earned rest after providing us with these prompts for almost seven years! As there’s no official prompt for this week, I decided to go back and do one that I hadn’t had the chance to do when it was new.

There are some lines in books that mean so much when I read them that I have to sit and stare at the wall for a moment. Some are so funny that I have to put my book down and roll about for a bit before I can read again. Whatever my reaction, I’m sharing with you this week my (current) top 10 favorite quotes from books.

18049311

Oh, well, thanks an awful lot, Thomas, Myfanwy thought bitterly. It sounds like I’m the Defense Minister of Ghosts and Goblins, but as long as the job is “all fairly self-explanatory,” I’ve no doubt it will be fine. The country might get overrun by brownies and talking trees, but what the hell — there’s always Australia!”

– Daniel O’Malley, The Rook

 

“Yes, Minister, it turns out that there was a mysterious force that caused that plane to crash. We call it gravity.”

– Daniel O’Malley, The Rook

23437156

“Kaz leaned back. “What’s the easiest way to steal a man’s wallet?”
“Knife to the throat?” asked Inej.
“Gun to the back?” said Jesper.
“Poison in his cup?” suggested Nina.
“You’re all horrible,” said Matthias.”

– Leigh Bardugo, Six of Crows

244098

“A philosopher once asked, “Are we human because we gaze at the stars, or do we gaze at them because we are human?” Pointless, really…”Do the stars gaze back?” Now, that’s a question.”

– Neil Gaiman, Stardust

13519397

“My name is Celaena Sardothien. But it makes no difference if my name’s Celaena or Lillian or Bitch, because I’d still beat you, no matter what you call me.”

– Sarah J. Maas, Throne of Glass

16069030

“Isn’t that what stories do, make real things fake, and fake things real?”

– Marie Rutkoski, The Winner’s Curse

22747802

“For a few moments I want to be 5 years old again. I want someone to plunk me down in front of a Disney movie and ask me if I want apple juice or grape.”

– Jennifer Richard Jacobson, Paper Things

17290810

“Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.”

– John Green, The Fault in Our Stars

22842001

“I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.”

– J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

23341894

“Crappy mall food cures everything.”

– Tamara Ireland Stone, Every Last Word

 

All pictures, quotes, and videos belong to their respective owners. I use them here solely for the purpose of review and commentary.
5 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: 10 Favorite Books Quotes

Leave a Reply

