Top 10 Tuesday: 10 Books I Loved Less Than I Thought I Would

toptentuesday

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find the prompts here.

There are some books that, for one reason or another, don’t work out as well as you might have hoped. Maybe it was the hype? Maybe it was just a terribly written book. Then again, it might not have been to your tastes and someone else might like it fine. Tons of reasons, each valid. The ten eight books I’m looking at this week are books I’ve read that I thought I was going to love for one reason or another and ended up being disappointed by.

29069989

Why not lead off with the most disappointing entry on this list? I know it’s not written by J.K. Rowling so that should have been my first clue, but as she had a hand in developing the story, I thought that there would be a certain quality to this story. It wasn’t the format that bothered me, rather the events and the character development. Neither lived up to the legacy that was created by the seven Harry Potter novels and the fact that this is supposed to be considered Harry Potter #8 is close to offensive. I personally cannot count it, it was that disappointing.

51gfoeb5tbl-_sl300_

This one comes with a caveat: I think the only reason I didn’t like this book was because the narrator for the audiobook had a voice that irritated me to no end. I’m still not sure how I managed to finish it. I started the book as a physical copy and was loving it, but then I had a lot of work to get done so I picked the CD’s up at the library. I plan on rereading the series this year so I can read the third book with a fresh mind on the previous two books since I had such a poor first experience.

15842637

I read  this after it being recommended all over BookTube and after the movie went into production. I figured that was as good a time as any, right? That turned out to be a mistake. I disliked this book so much that I barely finished it. I guess this means it’s almost worse than Cursed Child? I think the only reason it doesn’t beat that one out is because I don’t have a history with this author.

321574

While I did feature this book in a previous post because I thought it could do with more recipes due to the nature of the book (loads of food), I didn’t love it nearly as much as I thought I would. This is one of the few instances where I watched the movie before reading the book and it’s also one of the few instances in which I think the movie is better than the book. The novel was just so slow and didn’t have the same quality of character development or atmosphere as the film.

20299683

Rat Queens looked so cool. I think the reason I was disappointed in this one is because I went into it with an idea of what it was and it really wasn’t. I thought these characters were campaigners, for example, and not actually living these adventures. That changed the dynamic of what I had in my head. Then there was the humor. It just didn’t click for me and made the reading a chore.

30547445

I love Doctor Who stories normally, but this was not as adventurous as the ones I’d read in the past. Whether this is because these books are written by different authors or whether it’s because this was (supposed to be) about the Twelfth Doctor, I don’t know, but it was a let down.

30795613

The Nightmare Before Christmas is a classic and when you publish a new “version” of a classic, you’ve got to be careful. It’s like doing a movie reboot or retelling, there’s a lot of expectations based on an already beloved material. Guess what? Nightmare is one such material and this adaptation was one instance in which the publisher should not have gone ahead. It brought nothing new to the table and, somehow, made the tale boring. How, how do you do that to Jack and Sally? Writing this book, apparently.

28101540

I didn’t mind Under Rose-Tainted Skies as much as some of the other entries on this list. What let me down on this one was the character development, specifically in regards to the romance. I don’t have a problem with romances, but the way that the two main characters acted (their awkwardness, etc.) halted any sort of interest I had in them and made the story falter. It was a big road bump in an otherwise enjoyable story about a tough subject (mental illness: agoraphobia, self harm).

 

 

All pictures, quotes, and videos belong to their respective owners. I use them here solely for the purpose of review and commentary.

 

10 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: 10 Books I Loved Less Than I Thought I Would

  1. Yes to Harry Potter ! I didn’t really pay attention to the advertising for it and preordered it from an indie
    Bookstore / went to the midnight selling just because a friend wanted to. But then being there Igor really excited and had no idea it was a play and that JK Rowling didn’t write it lol! At that point I became really disappointed and lost interest

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I knew what it was from the beginning as a fan and because I worked at a book store at the time. That was something we had to tell people over and over, even though the signs all said screenplay and written by Jack Thorne. The party atmosphere at midnight was fun, which made the ensuing letdown that much more tragic.

      I really hope she writes Hogwarts: A History someday as a true book, but I doubt it. I really wouldn’t mind a Founders book, or Marauders come to that!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha yes ! I loved Harry Potter and obviously follow the book world but somehow missed this . I’d love the Marauders! I think it’d be cool to see how it all went down the first time around leading up to the Potters’ death! But as a proper book this time lol

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! I actually had a discussion about audiobooks and narrators last night with my husband because of an episode of Bones. Have you seen that? If not, in this episode the main character Temperance Brennan (aka Bones), who is a well liked author, doesn’t like the narrator for her newest book and decides to narrate it herself. Her editor tells her she needs to audition for it. My husband didn’t realize there was so much work put into finding a narrator and I told him about the disappointments I’d had and how the wrong narrator can completely destroy a story.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

