Top 10 Tuesday: Books I Wish Had More Recipes In Them

toptentuesday

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find the prompts here.

Writers being writers, they’re great (or at least they’re supposed to be) describing what is going on in their novels. When the thing that is happening in the novel is a feast or a quiet night at home with a ton of snacks, then my stomach starts grumbling and I get hungry. Sometimes I can figure out the recipes, but wouldn’t it be nice if these books that described such delicious dishes actually had more recipes in them?

Some of these books might have had unofficial recipe books written based on their stories, but I’m aiming for recipes that would’ve been considered official at the time and published with the novels rather than afterwards.

15749186

1. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Goodreads

Lara Jean bakes quite a lot throughout this book and it’s such an important part of who she. Why there aren’t any recipes in this books I have no idea, but one of the “events” of the books is Christmas time when Lara Jean bakes a ton of different types of cookies. Why not include of few of these recipes? It would make for a good book club night.

150739

2. Dealing With Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede

Goodreads

I distinctly remember a cherry jubliee being mentioned in this book and a chocolate mousse as well. Since these were being prepared for dragons, they were made in portions to boggle the mind. How about sharing the love and a recipe for a human sized portion, please? Two isn’t too much to ask, right?

480478

3. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling

Goodreads

Why this book, you may ask, out of the entire series? After all, Harry has some pretty amazing feasts in the first book alone! Well, the special thing about this book is that it is the first time that Harry is able to visit the Burrow. Can you imagine all of the lovely meals that Molly Weasley made for him? They might not have been the most intricate meals, but you can bet they were the most heartfelt and they sure weren’t shoddy! I want to know what some of those dishes were so I can share them with my own family.

18798983

4. The Wrath & the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

Goodreads

Shahrzhad does have some troubling times in this book, obviously, but once she’s gotten past the first night and things are going day to day, she starts to get treated rather well and that includes the food! I’m not very familiar with the preparation for the food mention therein, but with a nudge in the right direction I could make them and sample them (finally!).

13279499

5. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Goodreads

Part of the fun of going to the circus is the treats they have! It’s been awhile since I’ve read this, but the one that sticks out in my mind the most is the caramel corn. The young twins in it talk about the food quite a bit when the focus is on them and they mention that in particular.

Since the circus has a specific color theme (black and white), I’m curious too about how the food would look.

456908

6. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith

Goodreads

This book might sound a bit weird as one to want recipes from because the main characters are all very poor people. However, even though Katie, the head of the family, is poor, she never let that stop her from feeding her family as well and with as wide a variety as she was able with what she had. With minimal ingredients she made fricadellan (a sort of meatball, I think), bread pudding, and other things that Francie (the main character) spoke of with love.

321574

7. Chocolat by Joanne Harris

Goodreads

While I didn’t like this book as much as I did the film adaptation, it still had quite a few different treats that made my mouth water. I read it at a difficult time in my life and these chocolates and candies gave me something to dream about. My skills with chocolate work are somewhat weak, but if Chocolat had recipes at the back, I think I’d have the abilities to attempt a replication.

33009320

8. Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Goodreads

If Chocolat was all about the chocolates and candies, then Heartless is all about the baked goods. I haven’t finished it yet, but already Catherine, the main character, has made a lemon tart that sounded beyond delicious. There was a banquet at the king’s ball that sounded like the best buffet ever and I bet Catherine has quite a bit more up her sleeve.

685379

9. Dance Upon the Air by Nora Roberts

Goodreads

Nell Channing gets a job in a bookstore (point one), working in their cafe (point two). She’s a genius in the kitchen, pulling recipes from who knows where, for everything from cakes and brownies to soups, salads, and sandwiches. If I lived on Three Sisters Island where Nell works, I am sure I’d become a regular of hers, even if I learned to make these dishes myself. I’m not sure if I could convince her to share her recipes, but based on her personality in the book, I don’t think she’d mind. I wish there were some recipes especially for her soups because this time of year they’d be very comforting.

11127

10. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

Goodreads

There are so many different types of food mentioned in this book that it would be impossible to mention them all, but it’s similar to Dance Upon the Air: there’s sweets and savories. Now there is a separate cookbook that was published by C.S. Lewis’s stepson, so that sort of answers my quest for recipes here, but it would’ve been nice if there’d been simple ones to go along with each story, even if it were just ones for sandwiches or cookies.

All pictures, quotes, and videos belong to their respective owners. I use them here solely for the purpose of review and commentary.
2 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Books I Wish Had More Recipes In Them

    1. That would be awesome and so delicious! I don’t think chocolate frogs would be too hard, as long as you could find a mold for them, but maybe to make them extra special there should be a filling? I’d say pop rocks or similar so they’re “alive”, but I know those are already in Fizzing Whizbees.

      Like

Leave a Reply

