Top 5 Wednesday: 2017 Debuts I’m Excited For

118368

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and created by Lainey from Gingerreadlainey.

The great thing about doing blog posts in January? You get to talk about all the great new books coming out this year! Now there’s nothing to say that you can’t talk about new books at any time of the year, really, but the first couple of prompts are usually concerned with your 2017 TBRs or, in this case, debuts that you’re looking forward to.

Every year there’s at least one I’m really looking forward to and this year is no exception, though I must say that there seem to be a tremendous amount of fantastic debuts coming out this year. Five is a hard number to stick to, but I’ll do my best.

27883214

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Caraval has been on my list since I read the synopsis. I’ll admit, it caught my attention because it sounds like it has some similarities to The Night Circus, another book about a magical circus that I loved, even if it did make me very sad.

I read the sampler for Caraval and think that it will work very well on its own, similarities aside. The adventure is going to start right away with sisters trying to protect one another, no matter the cost. The magic of the island where Caraval takes place is sure to be interesting. I really want to know what the game entails. What are the challenges? How does one win, really? Are there limits to the wish prize?

32075671

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

This book is timely and the topic is very interesting. While my town hasn’t experienced anything like what Starr, the main character, goes through, I’m constantly hearing about it in the news and from friends and family that live in cities closer to such spots. I’m not sure how Angie Thomas is going to write this book or where the story is going to go, but I have a feeling it needs to be read and not just by me. It feels like it’s going to be a must-read for a lot of people.

24763621

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones

The cover is beautiful, sure, but did you know this book is a retelling/inspired by Beauty & the Beast and Labyrinth? O.O Those are two of my favorite stories and I preordered this book so fast once I realized that, that my Amazon account is probably still in shock. February is going to be a very good month.

32051720

Wicked Like a Wildfire by Lana Popovic

I haven’t heard much about this book, but the summary sounds interesting. It has traces of Chocolat and Like Water for Chocolate, baking emotions into delectable treats, but there’s also hidden magic that I haven’t seen before. One of the sisters in the books, Iris, sees flowers as fractal images and turns them into stained glass. The cover is gorgeous, to boot.

25701463

You’re Welcome, Universe by Whitney Gardner

This book promises to be interesting. The main character Julia creates art through graffiti and there’s supposed to be graffiti art throughout the book. It’s also incredibly diverse: Julia is not only Indian, but she is deaf and has two mothers. I’m very anxious to read a book about a deaf character. I don’t think I have before.

 

 

 

All pictures, quotes, and videos belong to their respective owners. I use them here solely for the purpose of review and commentary.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: 2017 Debuts I’m Excited For

  1. Oooh I’m SUPER excited about You’re Welcome Universe!! It’s got to be on my top list of books-I-need-or-I’ll-combust.😂 And YES to The Hate U Give! I’ve already seen some epic people recommending it (including John Green eeeep) so that just makes me really happy that the hype is probably going to be worth it. ❤ Also I'm super keen for Caraval and I'm actually thinking about preording it. All the covers are so so beautiful.😍

    Like

    1. I’ve got a sneaking suspicion that Caraval will be in a book box I’ve got coming. I hope I’m right because I can’t wait to see what other goodies they pick to go along with it! The first six chapters were amazing.

      You’re Welcome Universe is so unique, I think it’s going to be very interesting. And if you’ve got it on a read-or-combust list I know I made the right choice!

      Like

Leave a Reply

