Top 10 Tuesday: Ten 2016 Releases I Meant to Read (But Didn’t!)

toptentuesday

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find the prompts here.

My TBR is always bigger than my stomach, so to speak and of course there were way more releases in 2016 than I had time to read. My initial Goodreads challenge goal was to read 150 books which probably would have only scratched the surface if I had completed it, but I only read about 120.

This year I’ve got quite a few readathons and reading challenges lined up, but I hope to read some of last year’s releases as well, even with all of the great 2017 releases barreling toward me!

18584855

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

I haven’t gotten to the Lunar Chronicles either, so those books are on my TBR pile as well, but Heartless at least is a standalone so there’s no series lurking behind it. Apparently there’s a lot of baking involved in the story as well, which is always a plus.

25760792

Timekeeper by Tara Sim

I love books with inventors in them, especially when those inventors handle clockwork and little gadgets. This went on my TBR primarily because of that, but I also learned recently that there’s a M/M romance in it as well. That’s awesome! I need to read more of those and I can’t wait to get to Timekeeper.

28763485

The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

I read Nicola Yoon’s debut novel Everything, Everything, when it first came out and was largely satisfied with it (except for one kind of big thing at the end). When I saw she had another book coming out I was interested in giving her another chance to see if maybe the first time around was rough just because of me. It’s got an interesting topic to deal with too (immigration) and I think it’ll be a really good book to read this read.

28818313

Iron Cast by Destiny Soria

Books that have magic usually pique my interest based on the fact that magic is awesome, but this one sounds cool for more reasons: it takes place at a club run by a gangster (magical speakeasy?), it takes place in the early 20th century, and it sounds like there’s a strong female friendship at the front and center. It sounds like there’s intrigue a plenty for the main characters.

28220826

When the Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore

I have two of McLemore’s novels on my TBR but this one is at the top of the list because it sounds the most like a fairy tale that will engulf me. Roses that grow from a girl’s skin? A mysterious boy that paints moonscapes? I’m curious about these people and want to find out what their story is.

25812109

The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis

What does committing a crime do to you even when the victim deserved it? What kind of person does it turn you into? These are questions that I’m sure Alex Craft has to answer when she gets revenge for her murdered sister and unleashes her own dark nature. I want to find out what this does to both her nature and her interactions with those around her.

Something I thought that was cool about the cover that I’ll admit I didn’t realize at first was that all the characters on the front and back are, in fact, labeled as the females of their species. You learn something before you even open the book.

28220892

Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter

I wanted to read this before I even found out that it was the book of the month in an OwlCrate box (10 points to OwlCrate for their excellent selection!). It’s a story based on a Russian folk tale and it takes place in Brooklyn, both points that make it an auto-read for me. I’m a sucker for books sets in New York and I’ve become fascinated by Russian fairy tales and folk lore in the past year.

28218957

The Cat King of Havana by Tom Crosshill

Who doesn’t love a good cat video? Apparently Rick, the main character or self styled Cat King, is a whiz at making them. While this leads to being dumped by his girlfriend, his sudden interest in salsa dancing might lead to a new love interest, or at least a very funny time.

25063781

Summer Days and Summer Nights, edited by Stephanie Perkins

I loved 90% of the stories in the prior short story collection that Stephanie Perkins edited, My True Love Gave to Me. I got this around the time it came out in May 2016, but that turned out to be not a great idea because reading stories about summer while sweltering in the heat of my own summer wasn’t fun. Now that we’re in the middle of winter, I’m thinking this is going to be a lot more fun. I can visualize the sand and sun while ignoring the snow and ice outside.

23308084

The Rose & the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh

I loved The Wrath & the Dawn when I read it. Shahrzad was a badass character and watching her deal with Khalid, not to mention some of the side characters, was fun. Since this is only a duology I think I put this book off because I didn’t want the story to be over. I really should get to it though so I can see if these two get their happy ending (PLEASE let them!).

 

 

 

All pictures, quotes, and videos belong to their respective owners. I use them here solely for the purpose of review and commentary.

 

 

Leave a Reply

